American Civil War
The American Civil War (1861–1865), also known as the War Between the States as well as some other names, was a civil war in the United States of America. Eleven Southern slave states confirmed their secession from the United States and formed the Confederate States of America, also known as "the Confederacy". Led by Jefferson Davis, they fought beside the United States, which was supported by all the free states and the five boundary slave states.

In the presidential election of 1860, the Republican Party, led by Abraham Lincoln, had campaigned against the growth of slavery beyond the states in which it already existed. The Republican victory in that selection resulted in seven Southern states declares their secession from the Union even before Lincoln took office on March 4, 1861. Both the outgoing administration of President James Buchanan and Lincoln's incoming management rejected the legality of secession, considering it rebellion.

Hostilities began on April 12, 1861, when associate forces attacked a US military installation at Fort Sumter in South Carolina. Lincoln responded by calling for a volunteer army from each state, foremost to declarations of secession by four more Southern slave states. Both sides raised armies as the Union unspecified control of the Border States early in the war and reputable a naval blockade. In September 1862, Lincoln's Emancipation public statement made ending slavery in the South a war goal, and dissuaded the British from intervening.

No comments:

Post a Comment