Academy Award -American Award
The Academy Award is an accolade by the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) to know excellence of professionals in the film industry, including directors, actors, and writers. The formal ceremony at which the awards are accessible is one of the most prominent award ceremonies in the world and is televised live in more than 200 countries annually. It is also the oldest award ceremony in the media; its equivalents, the Grammy Awards, Emmy Awards (for television), and Tony Awards are model following the Academy.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences itself was visualize by Metro Goldwyn Mayer studio boss Louis B. Mayer. The first Academy Awards ceremony was held on May 16, 1929, at the Hotel Roosevelt in Hollywood to honor exceptional film success of the 1927/1928 film season. It was hosted by performer Douglas Fairbanks and director William C. deMille. Opting for a younger face for the 83rd Academy Awards planned for February 27, 2011, younger actors Anne Hathaway and James Franco were name as hosts in November 2010 by producer Bruce Cohen and Don Mischer.

Awarded for
Excellence in cinematic achievements
Presented by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
United States
First awarded
May 16, 1929

No comments:

Post a Comment