Mount Rushmore - ameriacn presidents sculpture
Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a sculpture engraved into the granite face of Mount Rushmore near Keystone, South Dakota, in the United States. Sculpted by Gutzon Borglum and later on by his son Lincoln Borglum, Mount Rushmore features 60-foot sculpture of the heads of former United States presidents George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln. The whole memorial covers 1,278.45 acres and is 5,725 feet above sea level. Borglum decisive the sculpture should have a further national focus, and chose the four presidents whose likenesses would be carved into the mountain.

After securing federal funding, building on the memorial began in 1927, and the presidents' faces were finished between 1934 and 1939. Upon Gutzon Borglum's death in March 1941, his son Lincoln Borglum took more construction. Though the primary concept called for each president to be depicted from head to waist, lack of funding enforced construction to end in October 1941. The U.S. National Park Service took control of the memorial in 1933, while it was still in construction, and control the memorial to the present day. It attracts around two million people annually.
Pennington County, South Dakota, U.S.
Nearest city
Keystone, South Dakota
1,278.45 acres
March 3, 1925

No comments:

Post a Comment