Tony Award - Award for Excellence in Theatre
The Antoinette Perry Award for Excellence in Theatre, more usually known as a Tony Award, recognizes achievement in live American theatre. The awards are offered by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League at an yearly ceremony in New York City. The awards are given for Broadway making and performance, and an award is given for regional theatre. Several discretionary non competitive awards are also given, with a Special Tony Award, the Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award. The prize are name after Antoinette Perry, co-founder of the American Theatre Wing.

The rules for the Tony Awards are set forth in the official certificate "Rules and Regulations of The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards", which relate for that season only. It measured the highest U.S. theatre honor, the U.S. theatre industry's equal to the Academy Awards (Oscars) for motion pictures, the Grammy Awards for music and the Emmy Awards for television. In British theatre, the equal of the Tony Award is the Laurence Olivier Award. Since 1997, the Tony Awards ceremony has regularly been held at Radio City Music Hall in New York City in June and transmit live on CBS television. The 64th Tony Awards ceremony was held on June 13, 2010, at Radio City Music Hall, with a three-hour televise on CBS television.

Awarded for
Excellence in Broadway theatre
Presented by
American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League
United States
First awarded

No comments:

Post a Comment